HOUSTON MISDEMEANOR LAWYER
WHAT ARE MISDEMEANORS IN TEXAS?
Charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs? Carrying a gun without a permit? In the state of Texas, these crimes are considered misdemeanors and the penalties may include jail time, fines, or both. The experienced Harris County criminal defense lawyer Alisa A. Woodward, at The Lady Law aggressively defends those facing misdemeanor charges and is dedicated to protecting the rights of individuals in Harris County and throughout Houston.
Like all states, Texas categorizes crimes based on the seriousness of the crime. The punishment for a particular misdemeanor depends upon how it is classified. Misdemeanors are broken into three categories: Class A misdemeanor, Class B misdemeanor, and Class C misdemeanor.
Class A misdemeanors
Class A misdemeanors are considered the most serious misdemeanor offenses. In Texas, Class A misdemeanors include the following offenses:
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI) second offense
- Unlawfully carrying a weapon
- Marijuana possession of two to four ounces
- Assault with bodily injury
Penalties for a Class A misdemeanors in Texas include mandatory jail time of up to one year, a monetary fine up to $4,000, or both.
Class B misdemeanors
Class B misdemeanors are considered less serious than Class A misdemeanors. The following offenses are classified as Class B misdemeanors in the state of Texas:
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI) first offense
- Minor drug possession
- Indecent exposure
- Failure to pay court-ordered child support
Penalties for Class B misdemeanors in the state of Texas include mandatory jail time of up to 180 days, a monetary fine of up to $2,000, or both.
Class C Misdemeanors
Crimes that are classified as Class C misdemeanors are considered the least serious misdemeanor offenses. In Texas, Class C misdemeanors include the following offenses:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol by a minor
- Simple assault
- Petty theft
- Disorderly conduct
- Minor in possession of alcohol or tobacco
Under Texas law, the penalty for a Class C misdemeanor is a fine of up to $500.
AGGRESSIVE REPRESENTATION OF MISDEMEANOR CHARGES
Charged with marijuana possession? Failure to pay child support? Unlawfully carrying a weapon? These misdemeanor charges can bring mandatory jail time in the state of Texas, with the possible addition of fines depending upon the charge. In addition to spending time in jail, having a misdemeanor on your official public record can cast a dark shadow over your life for years to come. For the best possible outcome in your criminal case, contact The Lady Law. Led by former Harris County Sheriff’s Deputy Alisa A. Woodward, our criminal defense team uses this law enforcement experience and inside knowledge to build an aggressive defense of the charges against you. Arrange for a confidential consultation with a member of our team; contact us today at 713-223-1600 or contact us online.